THE CINCINNATI BRANDON PHILLIPSES STAVE OFF ELIMINATION! (and other silly comments)

 

THE CINCINNATI BRANDON PHILLIPSES STAVE OFF ELIMINATION!

 

That’s the rumor as many fans would like you to believe after last night’s extra inning breakdown against the division/league/world leading St Louis Cardinals.  As Twitter erupted with bad news about the Reds season being over in June, the Reds made the trip to Chicago where Brandon Phillips took over the offensive duties with six RBI, including a hard-to-see grand slam, and Homer Bailey kept the Cubbies bats (mostly) silent as the Reds took a 6-2 win at a very foggy Wrigley Field.

I was hoping this game would turn out this way, but the game of the series that I am most interested in watching is tomorrow night’s matchup where Matt “Loudmouth” Garza heads to the hill for the Cubs.  If he decides to back up the silly rant from a few weeks ago when he mouthed off about Johnny Cueto, he won’t last more than an inning as he should be plunking Joey Votto. I doubt that happens, but if it does, I don’t see Garza walking off the field with his jersey in tact – just my opinion.

 

 

SPEAKING OF SILLY COMMENTS…

 

A buddy of mine recently made a comment that the Reds should trade Jay Bruce.  I know we all hear some off the wall things like this throughout the season, but he’s a pretty smart guy super genius and he was being honest about his thought.  His defense was that Bruce wouldn’t be difficult to replace with his .270-something batting average and $7.5 million contract.  I’m hoping this comment was a result of frustrations with the Reds losing a bunch lately and Jay Bruce being a fairly easy target.  I don’t think any organizational plan to win the World Series in the next five years is rationally thought out without Jay Bruce in the fold unless a Hershel Walker-type deal is presented to the Reds. My first comment back to my buddy was that I was glad that he didn’t run the Reds, but perhaps I should’ve reminded him that the baseball season is a marathon.  Maybe the Cardinals continue their record-shattering offensive production, but my guess would be they come back down to Earth a little bit.  When that happens, I hope the Reds have their ducks in a row and can take advantage of StL’s losses.  This Reds team has the potential to do great things when healthy, which brings me to another point…

 

 

SEAN MARSHALL IS BACK!

 

Well, kinda.  As reported on the Reds post game show, Marshall has been doing strengthening exercises and began long-tossing today.  Marshall commented that he can bring leadership to the lockerroom, which implies that he’ll be traveling with the team from here on out.  That’s a good thing.

 

 

COMMITMENT IS KEY

 

I’ve always been told you should finish what you started.  Tonight I took that to heart as I lit up the grill and cracked a cold one.  It wasn’t until I dropped the chicken on the grill that the thunder rolled and before too long I was a Kingsford commercial – grilling in the rain.  I didn’t quit and the chicken was delicious.

 

 

BEST LINE OF THE NIGHT

 

The best line of the night didn’t come from the Reds game.  If you’re married (or have an always-around girlfriend), you have probably watched a few segments of the Bachelor/Bachelorette.  Tonight, a guy was dismissed and made the comment “I can’t even cry. I’m all out of tears.”  That alone was worth the disgrace of having to watch a part of the show…

 

 

 

Thanks for reading!  If you want to make fun of me for watching some chick show or make a comment for me to pass on to my buddy with poor trade ideas, leave a comment or find me on Twitter at @GeoffreyHoman.  Thanks!

Leave a Reply

