1990 Reds, Forever in our hearts?

I remember growing up in Flint, Michigan I remember how much the 1984 Detroit Tigers meant to the state of Michigan. The excitement and pride surrounding that team was electric! Everyone was watching baseball that fall. People who were not really fans of the game were watching. Kids that grew up during that summer and the years following knew most if not all of the names of the players on that team! We were in love with the Tigers because they were hard working, blue collar guys in a blue collar town.

When I moved to Ohio in 2007, one of the 1st things I did was start learning about the sports teams! I began reading about the Reds, Bengals, Bearcats and even the Cyclones! (yes hockey, almost everyone in Michigan likes hockey!) Needless to say I was impressed with my new city’s sports history. You have to be impressed with the fact that in 1869 the Cincinnati Red Stockings, were established as the 1st professional baseball team!

Then I noticed that the Cincinnati Reds had won the 1990 World Series! As a baseball fan I knew this fact but I was pleased to see that the city has seemed to embraced the 1990 Reds just like we had embraced the 1984 Tigers! I noticed this right away when I was looking for autograph signing events all over the city and how most of them seemed to revolve around 2 very important parts of Reds history, The Big Red Machine and the 1990 World Series Champion Reds. While the Big Red Machine was a team that became legends and command respect accordingly. The 1990 Reds team seems to be closer to what the 1984 Tigers were to me. They seem more like a blue collar, working class team! I was so please to see how the players for that team seem to show up everywhere and the fans show up with them! No matter if it is Chris SaboTodd Benzinger, Tom Browning or those amazing Nasty Boys people show up in full force! The 1990 Reds players seem to be loved by all of the legions of Reds fans!

Case in point was a Chris Sabo signing that was held at Buffalo Wild Wings a week ago. I grabbed a baseball and ink pen and headed over to see what was going on. I expected a few people to show up but was pleased to see a line that stretched around the inside of the place! Then I remembered the Nasty Boys signing held at Sports Gallery awhile ago, tickets were selling for $200+ and people were lined up ready to go! Amazing show of support from the Reds fan base!

What I am trying to say is that I think that it is so cool how much the 1990 Reds mean to the people of Cincinnati and the surrounding areas. That team won a Championship 23 years ago this fall and they are still loved and adored by millions of fans all over Ohio and beyond!

Do you have any memories of the 1990 Reds or any Reds teams? Feel free to comment below or message me on Twitter at @garpike28

Have a great day!
Joe

Leave a Reply

